Can't open installer?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Brandon639, May 31, 2008.

  1. Brandon639

    Brandon639 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Every time I go to open installer is crashes.... I haven't really done anything that Might cause it to crash... Any ideas on how to fix it? I tried replacing it with the files from the backup on the thread somewhere here, but no luck...

    EDIT: Oops, I put this in the release section, sorry. Could a Mod move it please?
  2. gsr101

    gsr101 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah that happened to me , dont update installer

    just use any program to jailbreak/ unlock again and it will work

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. Brandon639

    Brandon639 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have to restore and rejailbreak? Please tell me thats not true...
  4. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    The permissions may be off. Run this command
    chmod 4755 /Applications/Installer.app/Installer
    If you replaced files with the backup, you will also need to run this command
    chown -R root:wheel /Applications/Installer.app

    If that doesn't work then you may havereached your apps space limit. Run the commands found here

    More info on SSH and commands here
  5. Brandon639

    Brandon639 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I used this post found in another topic and it worked... Thanks everyone who helped!

  6. Naveen

    Naveen Banned

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. awal

    awal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,764
    Likes Received:
    31
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
  8. Ulysses_609

    Ulysses_609 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Confirmed. All you have to do is change remotepackages.plist to remote packages.plist.old and installer runs the way its supposed to.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    That is the same as deleting it

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Installer will not recognize it either way.
  10. Exsomos

    Exsomos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Thank you, thank you, thank you...

    I just restored and didn't feel like doing it again and all that jazz.

    Renaming the remotepackages.plist worked for me as well.

Share This Page