can't find the server...

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by sheeps41, Oct 19, 2007.

  1. sheeps41

    sheeps41 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've tried connecting my ipod to the internet for the past 3 hours and i still haven't succeeded. i'm using a linksys wireless-g router and i have my IP set at 169.245.163.179 and my subnet mask at 255.255.0.0 and my DNS at 208.67.222.222 i also have it set in DHCP mode but i have nothing for the HTTP proxy. is something needed there? please help, i'm incredibly frustrated...
  2. jonnyd

    jonnyd New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    None of that sounds right for a standard linksys router.

    No guarantees here, but you could try the following;

    IP 192.168.1.25
    Netmask 255.255.255.000

    Use the DNS numbers you already have there.

    If you've set it to dhcp mode, it will ignore any IP address you put in. Normally it's better to use dhcp, but you have to have the router set to provide ip adresses too.

    Alternatively, if you have another computer connected to the net via the linksys router, check the settings on that - windows you'd hit start / run / type in 'cmd' then in the black box that appears you type 'ipconfig /all' (without the quotes), and it'll tell you what your setting are.

    On a Mac it's applications / utilities / network utility. The info tab will give you these details.

    Your IP address will depend on the netmask. If it really is 255.255.0.0, the first two 3 digit numbers must be the same, the 3rd and 4th can be different. If the mask is 255.255.255.0, only the 4th 3 digit number of the IP address can be different. The others must be the same.

    Have a fiddle with that lot, post back with results.
  3. Collateral

    Collateral Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    I have linksys and my netmask is 255.255.255.0 And that is the default. Set it to that.
    Then the first 3 numbers of your ip probably should be 192.168.1.xxx
  4. Blake

    Blake Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,963
    Likes Received:
    63
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I use 3 different linksys routers and there ip's start with 192.168.2.xxx
    So you could try that also.
  5. sheeps41

    sheeps41 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    finally someone responds! thank you, but i tried following all of that and i set my IP,subnet, and DNS all to what my settings were when i pulled up the IP info and still no luck. any other ideas? you seem well informed on this topic so anything helps!
  6. jonnyd

    jonnyd New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    more info would help.

    Is the router working? Have you got other pcs connecting ok?

    If so, what are their ip details (one will do).

    We can help easier with that info.
  7. e-m00

    e-m00 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, am I the only one here who actually knows networking?

    An IP beginning with 169 means that your network card could not get an IP from the DHCP server (your router). With Linksys, you should be able to use DHCP adressing without a problem. Just be sure your subnet mask is set to 255.255.255.0

    If you require further assistance, feel free to contact me on AIM.
  8. sheeps41

    sheeps41 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes the router is working, and the IP i get from my computer that is connect to the router by an ethernet cable is 192.168.1.100 the subnet mask is 255.255.255.0 and the DNS is 69.145.248.50
  9. jonnyd

    jonnyd New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    wtf?

    No, you're not.

    You're definitely a massive *edited* tool though .
  10. jonnyd

    jonnyd New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so unless wireless is disabled, the suggestions here should be ok.

    Is your ipod seeing the network? Does the name appear in the list of networks?

    You can check the router on the pc by going to http://192.168.1.1

    User: (blank)
    pass: admin

Share This Page