Cannot make ringtones anymore??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by wondertwins, May 23, 2010.

  1. wondertwins

    wondertwins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    For a long time, I was able to make my own ringtone via iTunes by converting my mp3's into AAC files and etc. However with the new iTunes update, I cannot seem to find the 'Convert to AAC file' button and I am distraught. Can anyone help me?
  2. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    ringtones can only be 30 secs long as max in itunes
  3. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    yea, but what hes doing works, although i havent tried it since the update
  4. Gangsta692

    Gangsta692 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I was confused too. Couple of things to make sure first;
    iTunes > go to Edit > Preferences and make sure Ringtones is checked. Next up, find the song you want as ringtone, change start/end to whatever you'd like (30 secs max, as mentioned) and save. Then go to the Advanced tab > Create AAC-version. I believe that's what you were looking for.
  5. wondertwins

    wondertwins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    I used to do that but after I updated to my new iTunes, I cannot find the Create AAC file after I right click or in the advanced tab....

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. jalexis4192

    jalexis4192 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

    Attached Files:

  7. thedj

    thedj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    8
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    I thought ringtones need to be in m4r format? I use a website to convert mp3 to m4r then put it on iTunes and use as ringtone
  8. jalexis4192

    jalexis4192 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    They do, i use Garageband for mine. But in windows you can convert it to ACC, then change the file extension to m4r and it makes it into the ringtone format.
  9. house

    house New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can also use iToner from Ambrosia software to transfer your custom ringtones.
  10. Gangsta692

    Gangsta692 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Umm, as earlier mentioned you might wanna check again. Click on the Advanced as in the SCR SHOT somebody took.

    @thedj: They do have to be in m4r format, but after creating an AAC version, you simply rename the file (Drag it to desktop first) to .m4r and then drag into the library again, and it will be under the ringtones tab.

Share This Page