Can someone please explain, why Android cant be run in Bochs?

Discussion in 'Android Chat' started by GazaIan, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. GazaIan

    GazaIan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    There's live android. theres Android x86, two distros of it. Why cant it be run in Bochs for iPhone? i havent tried it yet myself due to Cyberduck being a retarded goose, and WinSCP.. well its just crazy.

    But why cant we try that? This would probably be awesome for iPad users since the screen is as max resolution.
  2. Shengis14

    Shengis14 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Because the iPad or any Idevice does not have enough processor power to emulate the androidos
  3. mikeac

    mikeac Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Not sure. Did you do it right?

    Bochs probably only runs very slowly on older OSes.
  4. picklejw

    picklejw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    no it uses a "cmov" thing, have no idea what that is but thats the error that pops up, same thing with Fedora 13.
  5. GazaIan

    GazaIan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    if android can run on the first iPhone ever, then its sure as hell can be run IN iOS with more processing speed and twice the RAM. or 4 times the RAM with iPhone 4.

    Can it be solved ? [ or emulated ? ]
  6. bobby681

    bobby681 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Emulating a system uses far more resources than running it natively.

    As an example take an osx image in vmware, its ridiculously slow, but if you hackintosh it works perfectly and smoothly.
  7. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,015
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    Bochs emulates x86 on to the iPhone. x86 OSes use a different code for their processors. OSes that are x86 are: Linux, Mac, and Windows (There are others too).

    Android and iPhone and Palm WebOS are all ARM based. They won't run on an x86 Emulator because the directions that are given to the processor are different. We don't emulate Android on the iPhone, we actually run it since it does have an ARM processor. We could do the same with Palm WebOS (I believe that is open source too, but it might be against the license).
  8. benny679

    benny679 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    I've tried... failed.
  9. metakirbyknight

    metakirbyknight New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    VMWare is not emulation. VMWare is virtualization.

    VMWare (or if your me, VirtualBox) creates a hard drive image on your hard disk and runs in OS separately from the host, but still within it. Sorta, kinda.

    Emulators, on the other hand, convert instruction sets into another processors language.

    Just sayin'

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,023
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Which is why Android x86 is a group that gets Android running on x86 instruction based processors....

Share This Page