Can Iplayer work on U.S Ipod Touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by andy_g, Jun 13, 2008.

  1. andy_g

    andy_g New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have recently purchased an ipod touch and I am having difficulties getting the bbc iplayer website to work on it. In live in the UK but I beleive I have an American ipod touch as a number of the default settings are set to U.S. When I navigate to the iplayer website I get a screen saying that the the content can only be viewed in the UK and not U.S. Then when I go to the next screen it lets me navigate around the site but each programme shows as not currently available.

    Does this mean that my ipod can't use the iplayer website or is there anything that can be done? I live in the UK and pay my TV licence so I am not doing anything illegal.

    Thanks for any help

    Andy
  2. ipNinja

    ipNinja New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    You will not get it working as the ipod does not support flash

    However you can register you pod at videohampster.com.

    Follow the instruction for flash video conversion. You will not be able to use it for iPlayer as it ony converts 5mins on the fly.

    Rgrds
    Stu
  3. ipNinja

    ipNinja New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Bubmp for edit
  4. legallyillegal

    legallyillegal New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    bbc iplayer restricts by ip geolocation, so it won't matter where your device came from
  5. Manic Nimrod

    Manic Nimrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    8,769
    Likes Received:
    149
    Eh WRONG.

    The BBC iPlayer allows videos to be played on the iPod Touch/iPhone. Its still in beta tho(i think)

    It was been working for very long. Its very good.
  6. ipNinja

    ipNinja New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    REALLY! well F**k me! (excuse that) Got a bit excited there.

    Cheerz nimanic man or what eva
  7. Manic Nimrod

    Manic Nimrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    8,769
    Likes Received:
    149
    Manic nimrod.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. andy_g

    andy_g New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So does anybody have any ideas why it isn't working?
  9. sjmarshy

    sjmarshy New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    if it restricts by IP then technically you shouldn't be having a problem. Attempt to change your IP perhaps by turning your router off for around ten minutes and then back on again. This probably won't work as you shouldn't have a restricted IP in the first place as you're in the UK, but I guess it might be worth a try.
  10. andy_g

    andy_g New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the responses. I have tried restarting my router but I still get the same message. Also, if I goto iplayer on my pc using the same router then that works so it cant be my IP?!?

    Really confused. Any other ideas?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page