Can i use a o2 contract in a PAYG iphone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by brookes, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. brookes

    brookes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys and gyals,
    I'm looking at getting an Iphone next friday but i would like to know wether i could use my existing non iphone o2 contract in a pay as you go iphone


    If someone could please shed some light on this matter i would be very happy

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    cheers
  2. nikj14

    nikj14 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    i think as long as the SIM is active it will work, although the data costs will be really bad.
  3. brookes

    brookes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the fast reply!
    Well basically i'm using my sim card in my current nokia phone, which is basically on its last life

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    I take it that if i paid for the unlimited data plan bolt on, that would sort out the data cost?

    cheers

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. Monkey Jam

    Monkey Jam New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You wouldn't want to, because then you are throwing away free unlimited data, your contract SIM may not be 3G (check the last few digits on it) and won't have visual voice mail etc etc... you can ask O2 to terminate your current contract and upgrade to iPhone contract which they should do, if you are happy with the price.
  5. brookes

    brookes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well from what i understand if it says: Top line: 3GD4 *
    Bottom line: 23GPUNI
    Then it is a 3g sim?
  6. Monkey Jam

    Monkey Jam New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    yeah, but it still doesn't make any sense..
  7. brookes

    brookes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    well if your talking about: Top line: 3GD4 *
    Bottom line: 23GPUNI... then same here

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. Monkey Jam

    Monkey Jam New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    no, I mean, yeah it is a 3G SIm, but its pointless.

Share This Page