Can I restore a 1g ipod touch with a 2g ispw?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by Sparkyx, Apr 4, 2009.

  1. Sparkyx

    Sparkyx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I have recently jailbroken my 2g ipod touch using quickfreedom. I have the patched firmware [*.ispw] file still, and was wondering, if i could just restore a 1st generation ipod touch with the jailbroken firmware file (the one i used on 2g ipod) through itunes...or would i have to use a different firmware file instead. is it compatible?
  2. exit1010

    exit1010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    48
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    The answer is no. The firmware is completly rewritten for the 2g only. It like putting an iPhone ipsw on the iPod Touch first gen.
  3. pyroxp7

    pyroxp7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    69
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    NO!!!! Don't even think about doing it! The firmwares/ISPW are COMPLETELY different even though they're both iPod Touches, but that's why they're called 1G and 2G. Don't do it or you'll completely f**k up your iPod.
  4. r3v0lver

    r3v0lver New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Sorry but no... But unlike pyroxp7 said, i dont even think itunes would allow u to try...
  5. Sparkyx

    Sparkyx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    thank you. I won't make that mistake now =)
  6. ChronicFunk

    ChronicFunk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Incorrect. iTunes will simply reject it as it will recognise that your using a iPod touch 2G. If it does manage to get through iTunes, then idk. If something bad happens, then theirs always DFU mode.

Share This Page