Can I repeat DFU mode button combo if needed?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Phillip84, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. Phillip84

    Phillip84 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Hey, really quick noob question...

    I understand how to get into DFU mode so this is not another "How do you do it" thread. I just want to know if you, while following the steps of any of these tutorials, can keep retrying the button combo until it works. Or do you have to start the WHOLE process over if you don't get it exactly right a particular time?
  2. C000LIN

    C000LIN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You can keep retrying.
  3. Phillip84

    Phillip84 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Awesome. I think that is why it's taken so long for me to successfully JB. I thought the process was doomed if you screwed that part up. So I've waisted a lot of time haha. Thanks a lot!
  4. Moose_

    Moose_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heh. Don't worry if you do the steps wrong, just unplug the USB cable and restart your device.
  5. Phillip84

    Phillip84 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Would you all also know why iTunes on my desktop refuses to see my device is in DFU? At some point last night I had to move to my wife's laptop because iTunes stopped giving me the "restore" prompt. I have this problem whether my device is fully functional or when I'm in the middle of JB'ing. It just doesn't acknowledge DFU mode anymore...

    i tried uninstalling/installing iTunes but that didn't help.
  6. Kn0wnTooWeLL

    Kn0wnTooWeLL New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    After you upload the custom fw it wont work with itunes until you use boot helper.
  7. lokijuu105

    lokijuu105 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    unfortunatly i have the same problem and i dont have another comp to use
  8. Moose_

    Moose_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never have iTunes open when I put my iPod in DFU mode.
  9. Phillip84

    Phillip84 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    But I thought seeing the iTunes "restore" prompt was a sign that it was successful?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Yea it's kind of a pain. I just wonder if that element of iTunes got damaged during this big Jailbreaking parade. Though uninstalling and re-installing didn't help so I don't know.
  10. Moose_

    Moose_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it tells you that your iPod is in DFU mode... but you don't NEED it for your iPod to go into DFU mode. I judge whether or not it is in DFU mode by the beeps Windows gives me.

Share This Page