iOS 3.1 Can I keep jailbroken applications through an update?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Polarskid, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. Polarskid

    Polarskid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I am on 3.0 with 2nd gen iPod touch. I was wondering if you could upgrade firmware with out losing all of my cydia stuff?

    Thanks in advance
  2. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
  3. maxam

    maxam Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Sorry but you will lose it.
  4. nitsua93

    nitsua93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    37
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    I did this and everything (except for mods and mobile substrate add-ons) actually stay stored on your device. as well as JB data from the previous jailbreak. Pretty much your themes and Jailbrake only apps will stay on but you have to move them and many other unusale things stay that just waste space. I recommend you don't do it
  5. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    You can use AptBackup to install everything after you update.
  6. b-mac 39

    b-mac 39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,809
    Likes Received:
    60
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    You can use aptbackup.

    EDIT: Ahhh, spoony beat me to it.
  7. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Like an hour later.. lol.
  8. SoBe

    SoBe Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yeah i used aptbackup, and when i restored my jailbreak apps, many of the app settings were intact.
  9. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    When you update, it doesn't remove your settings. Alternatively, if you restored and then did a backup, your backup will rewrite your settings to their previous state.

Share This Page