Buying some RAM, need advice.

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by dodgy, Oct 3, 2009.

  1. dodgy

    dodgy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Hi guys,

    I have just been given a free laptop from my University. It's a Dell Vostro A860.

    Now, it's a pretty standard laptop. Here's the specs:

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Now as you can see, it only has 2GB of ram. I would like to upgrade this to 4GB

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    .

    My questions which I need advice on:

    1. I want to upgrade to Windows 7. Can my laptop specs handle it? The 32bit version or 64?

    2. Where can I buy cheap ram for in the UK/online? I found this on eBay, and looks ok, I think. If anyone knows anywhere cheaper, give me a link!

    3. Once I purchase the ram, how easy is it to install it on my laptop?


    Thanks. You guys never fail to deliver

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Peace!
  2. Xii

    Xii New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
  3. dodgy

    dodgy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Thank you!

    I would love to tell you, but I don't know how to find out lol. It's probably really basic :s

    Any idea on how to find out?

    EDIT:

    I went to dxdiag, and on the Display tab it says:

    Chip Type: Mobile Interl(R) 965 Mobile Chipset Family
    Approx. Total Memory: 348.0 MB
    Current Display Mode: 1366 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)

    Does that help?
  4. hooger

    hooger Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just so you know you dont have to buy RAM that is for the Vostro A860, any DDR2 SODIMM will work.
  5. dodgy

    dodgy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Ah ok. Thanks! Care to link me to a better priced/quality one? Please? lol

    thanks man
  6. sambalayne

    sambalayne Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    should work perfect for win7
    ram is easy to install
    buy it from crucial.com
    any questions?
  7. dodgy

    dodgy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Well, my friend just told me that I don't need 4GB for a laptop.

    Apparently, my laptop only uses upto 1.5GB let alone 2GB. Is this true?

    I don't do much on my laptop. I listen to music, surf the web and msn.

    What do you think?
  8. cbubbagump

    cbubbagump Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
  9. dodgy

    dodgy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
  10. JIMIneitor

    JIMIneitor Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    i wouldnt recommend doing that

    i have an inspiron 1545 with 2gb, and it works more than fine in vista home premium, you will be ok with 2gb.

    also, take into account that i have played resource-hungry games in this laptop, like mirrors edge, call of duty 4 and left4dead, and background apps running, and everything was fine.

    i wouldnt buy the extra bytes

Share This Page