Building Apps for Jailbroken iPod Touch?

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by wyndwarrior, Jan 10, 2010.

1. wyndwarrior

wyndwarrior Active Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Ok, I made my app in XCode, tested it in the simulator, and now I want to put it on my iPod Touch. Is there anyway to do that without paying $99?

Sorry if this might be some obvious questions, but I'm new to iPhone development!
  2. jrcdude

jrcdude New Member

Device:
    iPad 2 (White)
    1. Under Project Properties (Project -> Edit Project Settings) click on the Build tab, and find Code Signing Identity. Change that value to 'Don't Code Sign'.

2. Change: Project -> Set Active SDK to iPhone Device 3.0
    and Project -> Set Active Build Configuration to Release.

3. Build -> Build

4. Open up your project folder, go to /build/Release-iphoneos in that folder.

5. There should be a file in that folder with a 'No' symbol over it. Right click that and click Show Package Contents.

6. Copy those files over to a new folder on your /Applications/ folder on your jailbroken iPot. (format for folder should be AppName.app)

7. Install ldid on your iPot (link identity editor)

8. Open up Terminal on your Mac thru Spotlight and then type the following commands:

$ssh root@*iPot IP ADDRESS*
    alpine //or whatever your iPot password is
    $cd /Applications/AppName.app (whatever it was that you created above)
    $ldid -S AppName (name of the binary)
    $chmod 755 AppName
    $resrping

And then it should work.
  3. Axis

Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    You can also get ldid of os x, and add a 'run script' build phase that will take your app bundle, run ldid on the binary, then scp it over to your device.
  4. wyndwarrior

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I'm getting an error when I try to build.

"CodeSign error: code signing is required for product type 'Application' in SDK 'Device - iPhone OS 3.1.2'
  5. jrcdude

jrcdude New Member

Device: