Broken Ipod -Water Damage Help :)

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by xEmmax, May 5, 2009.

1. xEmmax

xEmmax New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yes newbie here sat with a broken ipod

Please Register or Log in to view images

So basically was listening to some tune sgetting ready for school when it falls into a load of water (yes clever I know hovering my ipod over water...lesson learned!) I fished it out immediately, it was half in it's leather case, but of course that doesn't stop the water getting in of course! Dried it off, and fiddled with it - I known now i should of turned it off and left well alone but I panicked! The apple logo was faintly on in the background, it flashed all white, then was back to normal like my wallpaper came off and it was in locked, but the touchscreen wouldn't responded. I dried it with a blowdryer on cool setting, then after doing a bit online researching and realising I should of got it off straight away, put it in rice for the night - i couldn't turn it off now as the touchscreen obviously wouldn't respond.

In the morning plugged it into laptop except touchscreen broken and all seemed well it began charging, except once itunes loaded it didn't recognise the ipod, told me to restore which I tried, but it then refused to restore as it said files were corrupt!

So I'm pretty convinced now that my poor touch has gone, have had it sitting for the last 36 hours or so in rice but I think i messed it up at the beginning not getting it straight off.

Is there any hope for my ipod I really can't afford another right now and I miss it already! I've googled everywhere but I've yet to find someone whos had the same trouble with the corrupt file business that I did.

Thanks in advance.

Please Register or Log in to view images

2. mikec1985

mikec1985 Active Member

Device:
    iPad
    The only thing I can say is to let it sit in rice for at least 3-4 more days and then try. If that doesn't work then you might be screwed.