iOS 3.1 Bricked ipod touch 2G

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by splinters, Mar 2, 2010.

1. splinters

splinters New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    Perhaps this should be subtitled: death by DFU.
    First, I am not a total noob and have jailbroken several ipods and iphones 1st, 2nd and 3rd gen.
    Which is why a friend asked me to do his.

Anyway, I ran blackrain on a 2G *GB ipod running 3.1.2, got the pretty picture and then the message that it was done. It went to reboot but it hung on a white screen. I waited for a while with no change then powered it off by the sleep button. When it came back on it went to the DFU screen so i connected and itunes started.
    Then the weird happened....I started downloading the 3.1.2 firmware to restore it (should I need to) and then it went off. After that the windows 'bing-bong' usb connection sound, black screen on ipod and the USB device not recognised.

Since then I tried every combination of restore (Hold and power, hold, power only, waiting 10 mins etc.)I cannot even get a sign of life from the ipod; nothing on screen at all...just black and it doesn't appear to be on.

I cannot get any PC to recognise it as an iPod and nothing on screen nor any way to restore as nothing recognizes it.
    My friend is gutted (it is just out of warranty) and I feel terrible as I was using it but I really have no idea. It just seems that it chose today to die.
    So, is there anything i can do or is it actually dead?
    Also sorry for using the word bricked but I tried for over 2 hours to get any sign of life out of it.
  2. theiThemer

theiThemer Active Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    First, try plugging it into a different USB port on your computer, and if no sounds are made, attempt to enter DFU.