Brand new iPhone...still showing some "jailbroken" behavior????

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by toydesign, Jun 15, 2008.

  1. toydesign

    toydesign New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I have been using a jailbroken 1.1.2 iPhone for quite a while now (though I am on ATT)...yesterday (after getting the "spinning wheel of death" during an attempted app download) I decided to try upgrading to 1.1.4 in prep for the App Store launch...
    After "restoring" to 1.1.4 my phone showed no wi-fi at all (option was grayed out in Settings, as was the Bluetooth option). tried to restore back to 1.1.2....no luck....1.1.1....no luck.....1.1.4 again, still screwed up....Anyway, I happen to have an Apple Store very close by, so I made a Genius Bar appointment. After looking at phone and trying a few things I was told it was a "hardware failure"....and they gave me a brand new iPhone (yeah!!!)...
    After restoring my phone with my settings through iTunes it still shows my carrier name being "eggcrtn" (I had changed this way back with one of Erica Sadun's apps)...it also is showing the battery life as % and icon....something I changed as well. My question after such a long explanation is: why would this be? Are these somehow "backed up" when syncing? Keep in mind that this is a brand new 1.1.4 "stock" iPhone....(not for long though, I'm about to jailbreak using ziphone)...

    Just curious, as I'm surprised that it shows anything different than "stock"
  2. stabbyjoe12

    stabbyjoe12 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    dfu u i again restore totally ake it back o apple
    greyed out wifi i a hardare not softwrae or firmware thing i belive
  3. plokiju

    plokiju New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    5
    did you restore from backup in iTunes or set up as a new phone?
  4. stabbyjoe12

    stabbyjoe12 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    i ddidnt think of that i could be a backed up setting good thinking batman
  5. toydesign

    toydesign New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I restored from an iTunes backup (needed my contacts, calendar, etc...)....
    I just am surprised that it backs up that info....

    -
  6. BroadStBullies

    BroadStBullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Interesting. Mine sort of did the same thing a while back. I changed my carrier with Make it Mine and I restored and it was still there.
  7. flattop95

    flattop95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    mine did that a while back when i restored from back up! just restore again!
  8. mrgas2004

    mrgas2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    yeah mine did the same but i just restored 1 more time
  9. buddy39914

    buddy39914 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    28
    Device:
    iPad mini
    try with 1.1.3

    or in dfu mode

Share This Page