BossTool manually.

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by keppi_GER_93, Jul 22, 2008.

  1. keppi_GER_93

    keppi_GER_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.
    I have found a way, to do BossTool manually.
    But my Question is, will THAT work on 2.0:

    Thanks a lot.

    keppi
  2. rvdveen

    rvdveen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    i do not think this will work in this order: you can not make a symbolic link to /Applications when the original folder still exists ....

    I also found out that when you have an updated Cydia Installer this will do the re-organizing on the file systems itself with some housekeeping.

    i now have /var as a symbolic link to /private/var/
    and /Applications is a symbolic link to /var/stash/Applications.pODQkM/

    And this is all done by cydia installer
  3. keppi_GER_93

    keppi_GER_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sh*t^^.
    I have tested that from me.
    And now, my Battery is out

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    I look.
    OK it works not.
    My Icons are all away^^.

    So that means, that i have to do nothing?
  4. rvdveen

    rvdveen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well, if all your icons are away it sounds like you have done something wrong.

    If you want to do it manuallyi think you should do it in this order:


    mkdir /private/var/Applications
    cp -R /Applications/* /private/var/Applications/
    mv /Applications /appz (this to have at least a backup, to rename it later again if something might go wrong)
    ln -s /private/var/Applications /Applications

    But as i said: If you have an up to date Cydia installer it would also have done this for you.
  5. keppi_GER_93

    keppi_GER_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don´t know, if my Cydia is up-to-date.
    Where can I see that?
  6. rvdveen

    rvdveen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well to check just where, what and how in Cydia installer ... it notified me there is a update for Cydia itself (again) ... so that should let you know that it is kept up to date...

    Mine is now updated to 1.0.2488-20 ...

    you can see the version with the command

    apt-cache show cydia ... in terminal or with ssh (putty)/terminal
  7. Flagpole

    Flagpole Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    i jailbroke 2.0 a couple of days ago with pwnage and i installed nes from cydia and still got the running out of space error. does this mean cydia didnt re-organize my file system?
  8. rvdveen

    rvdveen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well you can easily check for yourself if you have symbolic links for /Applications and for /var ... in the Mobile terminal or through SSH ....

    ls -l /
  9. keppi_GER_93

    keppi_GER_93 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look in Cydia. Maybe there is an update for Cydia. Install that.
  10. derf

    derf New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ipod touch "Warning Not enough disk space"

    I got an Ipod Touch just updated to version 2.0
    During Cydia update (after restore) I too got the warning message.
    I tried to move and link the whole Applications directory but all icons disappeared.
    However the applications are seen with Boss Pref (without icons).

    I tried to link only one application (e.g. Stocks.app).
    The Icon disappeared.
    I cp -rp the Stocks.app directory in /var/mobile/Applications
    I know see a blanck icon but the application does not start.

    I tried to reinstall Cydia hopping that it would do the move thing in /var/stash/...
    Nope did not work either.

    I check /etc/fstab and it is "rw" but that's not enough.

    Any idea how to move those applications ?
    Derf

Share This Page