Booting ubuntu help

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by iPTF_BROWSER, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. iPTF_BROWSER

    iPTF_BROWSER Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    HTC One
    Ok, i successfully burned the .iso to a disc, booted in to Ubuntu but when I got to the menu it asked if I wanted to:
    Install Ubuntu
    Check disc for bugs
    test memory
    boot first hard disk

    the first one, does it mean like install it to the hard disk?

    and the last one boots it in to vista.

    what do i do?
  2. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Looks like you didn't download the Live CD, rather the Alternate Install. Which has no GUI.
  3. iPTF_BROWSER

    iPTF_BROWSER Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    HTC One
    I'm pretty sure I did I downloaded the desktop version. 32bit just what i needed burned it to a cd. And it did have a GUI, it was not command line or anything like that. The gui had a big ubuntu logo on it.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    thats the page i downloaded it from and i used poweriso to burn it.
  4. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Theres no "Test Ubuntu" choice?
  5. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Thats just the beginning screen. All versions of Ubuntu have that.

    I'm betting you downloaded:

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    If you DID download the Live CD version, you'd have the option to Try before Install.
  6. iPTF_BROWSER

    iPTF_BROWSER Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    HTC One
    Downloaded this one:
    ubuntu-8.10-desktop-i386

    I will try it again and see if there is a test ubuntu thing or something else. But probably tomorrow, thanks for helping.
  7. jessikur

    jessikur Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    To be honest, I think you installed the correct version. If you want to install it, click the first one. It's going to take you through it step by step.

    But doesn't one of the options say something about trying it without effecting the system?
  8. Clownassasin

    Clownassasin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,546
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Ah i literally just finished installing Ubuntu, ok yes hit install, itll load up..just give it some time and then itll finally load up to the point where you begin to install after youve set some stuff up
  9. iPTF_BROWSER

    iPTF_BROWSER Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    HTC One
    But I don't want to actually install it. I just want to run it off the CD, not install it over Vista on my Hard Drive.
  10. Clownassasin

    Clownassasin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,546
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    well then on top of where it says install there should be a thing that says try it without installing it

Share This Page