boot camp

Discussion in 'General Apple Chat' started by tylobedo, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. tylobedo

    tylobedo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    alright guys I know I have a lot of questions about macs but I like to know things before I buy


    Ok fairly simple question

    For boot camp do I need the xp/vista install disks? I still got some so install disks( that have been atleast 5 times on 3 different computers

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ) and I can get vista for $50, or free at a bay with pirates, but $50 isn't very much and it's nicer to have a legal copy that works easily
  2. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    You need the install disks. Keep in mind, Vista only allows one installation per license. (Unlike XP)
  3. tylobedo

    tylobedo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Ok ty and oh well it's only $50 ( for special me

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    )
  4. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Well, I got a free copy from my uncle who works for Microsoft. Take that.

    It's laying dormant until I get a MacBook.
  5. kurtisboyd

    kurtisboyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You need a windows XP CD with SP2/SP3 on it.

    I don't know about Vista, but you'll need the disk.
  6. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Excellent point. I had forgotten to mention that. Older XP disks can't be used as they probably have SP1. If you're stuck in that predicament, you can burn a copy of your updated SP2/3.
  7. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Boot Camp Assistant basically partitions the Drive for you to install Windows.

    Just run Boot Camp Assistant, Partition the drive, Insert the disk, then restart and Windows will begin the install phase.
  8. kurtisboyd

    kurtisboyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yeah, I learnt the hard way.

    I was trying to install XP on my bootcamp partition and it didn't have SP2 on it, so the screen just froze and I had to hold down the power button for it to turn off.

    When my computer booted up, it loaded the XP disk and froze again.

    After panicking I read (on my desktop) that I needed to hold down click and it ejected.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Right, because none of the drivers are functual.
  10. kurtisboyd

    kurtisboyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yeah, I read up on things a lot more than back then

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page