Boot Camp Question

Discussion in 'General Apple Chat' started by rooneyband, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. rooneyband

    rooneyband New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been having a few problems with a game on my xp side, and I want to format the hard drive and reinstall windows.

    Is there a way I can just stay on the XP side and do this (usually done by putting in the xp disc and letting it do its thing...)

    Or do I have to go and delete the xp partition, remake a new one, and reinstall windows?

    Thanks.
  2. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Go onto Mac OS X, use Boot Camp assistant to remove the XP Partition.

    Then use Boot Camp to repartition it again and reinstall Windows XP. Its that Simple.

    Can you tell me which model of Mac you have? And what game you have problems with?
  3. rooneyband

    rooneyband New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got a late 2006 Intel iMac.

    I'm running Flight Simulator 2004, and was having problems with a few textures, and don't know if that's because of my graphics card (x1600)...or what.
  4. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Are you running Mac OS X Tiger or Leopard?
  5. rooneyband

    rooneyband New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running Leopard.
  6. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    It might be your drivers. Did you install any Apps lately?

    And did this stuff happen after a Window's update?

    Try Vista. I had better graphics for TF2 after installing Vista.
  7. rooneyband

    rooneyband New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does Vista support Dual Core Processors? I know that XP doesn't.

    BTW...

    Where do I get the latest drivers?
  8. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Of COURSE Vista supports Dual Core lol

    Its designed for Higher end computer such as the Mac

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    As for drivers, they come with the Leopard DVD. I can't seem to find updates for them (If any)
  9. buffonitaly

    buffonitaly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    For drivers you can just get the drivers for windows for the equivilant parts you have in your mac. For example I have an iMac which has a Radeon 2600 XT graphics card. I would go to ATi's site and get the windows drivers for that card.
  10. rooneyband

    rooneyband New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eh. FS2004 has no dual core support, so there's really no point.

    But there isn't a way just to reformat the hard drive and reinstall windows as you would normally do on a pc, without having to delete and recreate the partition?

Share This Page