BIOS Access Help

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by fear_2670, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to access the BIOS so that i can make DVD's boot instead of HHD's and thus i can run OSx86.
    I have tried F1,F2,F3,F8,F11,F12, DEL, and ESC but all of those just take me to the boot screen not the BIOS.
    Could anyone please tell me what is going on and how to fix it, or at least tell me how to make DVD's boot instead of HHD's.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Computer:

    Dell Inspiron 1525
  2. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    it will tell u b4 the bios and then hold that button until another screen pops up then u sould be able to use teh dvd drive to boot
  3. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    What kind of computer are you putting Hackintosh on.
  5. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    whaaat??

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    there has to be a way to access the BIOS. whats the make of u computer
  6. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dell Inspiron 1525. also i'll try an IBM later on.
  7. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    When you turn on your computer, what button does it tell you to press to access the BIOS?
  8. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now that you mention it, it doesn't say anything, while the family desktop does.
  9. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    it should work on a laptop when u see teh DELL icon and the loading bar beneath it push F12 thats what it is on my insprion 1000
  10. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, i already tried F12, i'll go an try all of them.

Share This Page