Binary upload error

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by JesseEtzler, Jul 26, 2009.

  1. JesseEtzler

    JesseEtzler New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I'm sure plenty of people have gotten this error when uploading and I think I know the problem but am not sure the fastest way to fix this. I think my problem is the naming of my application, I have a space inbetween my words when I named my app "My App". Is there an easy way to rename my application so I don't have to go through and remake the entire application so it will work ?

    Also should the icon be named icon.png or upper case Icon.png.. not sure if that would effect it.
  2. hitman2992

    hitman2992 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Just make sure there is no space in the name of the .zip file you upload with your app in it.

    also i believe its Icon.png
  3. JesseEtzler

    JesseEtzler New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Fixed both those things but am still getting the error :/ I've done everything exactly how apple asked... Is there a way to check what is wrong with the upload in xcode to see if the stuff is getting assigned and such ?
  4. hitman2992

    hitman2992 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    have you been signing the binary with the app store distribution certificate?
  5. JesseEtzler

    JesseEtzler New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yes I followed every step exactly as they have it up on apples website and can't figure out why it's still giving me the error. I wish there was a way to locate the problem.
  6. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    The name of your binary can't have any spaces in it. You will need to recompile the application without any spaces.
  7. JesseEtzler

    JesseEtzler New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch

    So would I need to rename my "My App.app" to just "MyApp.app" ? or a different file ? I just don't want to get any errors.
  8. Chicken

    Chicken Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Instead of asking if renaming would fix it, why don't you just try it?
  9. JesseEtzler

    JesseEtzler New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I'll be checking it when I get home from college, I've tried renaming folders and files before and got a ton of errors so I'm not quit sure which file I need to rename to fix the spacing issue.
  10. Chicken

    Chicken Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    OK, fair play, nothing wrong with taking precautions.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page