Beryl on Ubuntu Linux help!

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Brill301, Apr 24, 2008.

  1. Brill301

    Brill301 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I want beryl on my ubuntu linux, can anyone help me out? thanks...
  2. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Download something called the Compiz Config Manager. Just go to Add/Remove and search for Compiz or Beryl and install that.

    But you already have part of it installed. CCSM (Compiz Config Settings Manager) just adds more stuff.

    Go to your desktop settings, click the last tab and click the third option.
  3. Brill301

    Brill301 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Thanks, i'll try that...

    Edit: 200th post...
  4. Brill301

    Brill301 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Okay, didnt really work... it says, "downloading package" for about 5 min. then just, "an error occured" I tried about 3 times, let me know of any other ways please, thanks for your help

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    !!!
  5. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Well, just activate it first. By what I told you earlier, see if your hardware can support it first. You'll get Wobbly Windows and Cube desktop I think.
  6. Brill301

    Brill301 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yeah, I know what it is, and my hardware CaN support it, I tried to install somthin else, that didnt work either, its almost as if I am not connected to the internet? but im typing this to you??? Is there an "Offline Method" ??? thanks...
  7. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    There IS an offline method. You'll have to go to their website, download it, compile it, and install it. Which is kinda annoying lol

    Just restart your internet adapter or computer or router and try again. It'll work. Don't worry

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. Cyanidepoison

    Cyanidepoison Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Canonical's servers are getting pounded right now. I couldn't any packages to install on my latest installation. Wait a little while or compile from source. I'd recommend that anyway.

Share This Page