"backing up" while syncing

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by Sianspheric, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. Sianspheric

    Sianspheric New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok seriously,

    how do I turn this sh*t off, I want to add like 3 tunes to my touch and when I click sync, itunes insists on "backing up" the ipod.

    how do I turn this off and just add the songs?
  2. chrisburke

    chrisburke New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine is doing the same thing, and it takes forever to backup... hopefully someone has a solution
  3. bobby681

    bobby681 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Isn't there an option to turn it off in preferences?
  4. tian_kr

    tian_kr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    6
    just tick the box "manually manage music & videos".
    you dont need to sync anymore (unless you sync apps and such between ipod and computer)
  5. iPod.Touch

    iPod.Touch Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    93
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    No, I tried it and it only gives you the option to delete a backup!

    (PLEASE Someone correct me)
  6. admyrick

    admyrick New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    go to file, preferences, sharing, and check the box that says "disable all automatic syncing for all iPhones and iPods" you should be good after that
  7. jejp8486

    jejp8486 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Ok just click on the X next to that backing up progress bar, i did it and it continued syncing my music, contacts, etc.
    hope it helps.
  8. thechungster

    thechungster Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    just press the little x sign in itunes. this will cancel the backup, but continue will music...

Share This Page