back-space doesn't work on term-vt100

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.3 Discussions' started by obliviscence, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. obliviscence

    obliviscence New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    after I install installer b10 and bsd 2.0 it doesnt work still now
    backspace makes just space;
    it's worked well before, of course.

    what problem with me?
  2. Rip-Rip

    Rip-Rip New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    same problem
  3. brenner14

    brenner14 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    This is a "feature" of terminal on Macs... don't ask me why. On a Mac desktop, I believe backspace was "DEL," but I still haven't found out how to do it on my iPod. Just don't make mistakes in typing, I guess.
  4. Rip-Rip

    Rip-Rip New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    backspace works fine before upgrade to 1.1.3

    also ls --color=auto doesn't work anymore

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. obliviscence

    obliviscence New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0


    you're right
    it looks strange(for me) but it works fine
    thx :]
  6. toehead

    toehead New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is something wrong witht the new BSD subsystem. TOP and some other cfommands also dont work. I downgraded back to the old version.
  7. krst

    krst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like some environment variables are not set properly, but this is easy to fix. Just set $TERM to something like "vt100" or "xterm-color" to get the right behaviour from the backspace key (and "top").

    For those who don't know how:

    SSH into you iPod and edit the file /etc/profile. The "original" file looks something like this:

    Code:
    # System-wide .profile for sh(1)
    
    PATH="/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/private/var/root/bin"
    export PATH
    
    if [ "${BASH-no}" != "no" ]; then
    	[ -r /etc/bashrc ] && . /etc/bashrc
    fi
    
    Add the following line at the end of the file:

    Code:
    export TERM=vt100
    
    Logout / restart the terminal programm. Done.
  8. NUCLEaR

    NUCLEaR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    krst, your method doesn't work, just gives some errors when you start it up on top.
  9. yanks111890

    yanks111890 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    36
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    i had same problem with mine and it actually does backspace it just adds a space for some reason but it gets rid of the previous character... after upgrade though it fixed it so thats weird
  10. krst

    krst New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would you please post the error message and the content of /etc/profile? I doublechecked it with MobileTerminal and Term-vt100, so i guess there is just something typed not correctly.

    The file should look exactly like this:

    Code:
    # System-wide .profile for sh(1)
    
    PATH="/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/private/var/root/bin"
    export PATH
    
    if [ "${BASH-no}" != "no" ]; then
    	[ -r /etc/bashrc ] && . /etc/bashrc
    fi
    
    export TERM=vt100
    
    You can even check yourself if the environment variable is set if you type "echo $TERM" in the terminal.

Share This Page