Avoid "Erase and Sync iPod Touch" after Computer format?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Steveice10, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. Steveice10

    Steveice10 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Hello, my brother recently had to format his computer, and now when he tries to sync his iPod Touch 2G MC Model, it asks to "Erase and Sync". He wants to update it to 4.0 so he can jailbreak it while having iOS 4 features. He has a lot of apps and data it won't let him transfer and backup. How can he make the message go away?
  2. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    You cant, but he can transfer his media to his current iTunes and erase and sync to that. He will lose only what he doesnt have backed up.
  3. Steveice10

    Steveice10 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Is there really nothing he can do?
  4. ita93

    ita93 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    he can transfer purchases to keep the apps, but the music and videos he has to add them once again.
  5. Steveice10

    Steveice10 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Transfer Purchases won't transfer all the apps, and he mainly wants to keep app data. Like saves in games.

Share This Page