Auto3G turns on 3G when you need it!

Discussion in 'Latest Tech News and Rumors' started by Tkf1, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Good idea or what?

    [TheiPhoneSpot]
  2. lukage

    lukage New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    great idea, i've been looking for something to do this on my phone for years, hope tey have something for android
  3. TREYisRAD

    TREYisRAD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Try this. Works pretty well for me.
  4. Retro349

    Retro349 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    That's odd, I can't seem to log into Amazon.

    This seems like a great tweak though, the battery life on my 4 is really lacking, especially in comparison to my old Touch 2G.


    Ok, I have it working. I'm $6 closer to bankruptcy, but it sure beats a hefty case, or leaving it tethered to a power cable all day.

    Oh, and about the icon:

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Uuuuuuuugly.
    I thought it was like an industry standard to use PreferenceLoader now?
  5. Dreaded

    Dreaded New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    It's a bit expensive, but may be worth it in the long run.
  6. thedj

    thedj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    8
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    ok but what exactly is 3G and 2G? I am using t-mobile with Edge internet, so do I need this feature?
  7. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    No. You don't need it. in that case.

    I always have EDGE on anyways (or 3G off), so this isn't that useful for me

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Can the iPhone receive calls and texts when switching?
    I don't think it can... But I haven't tried, so I don't know.

    3G is a radio wave that transmits data more quickly than 2G.
  8. xtremegamer

    xtremegamer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    This could be very useful...
  9. xXrkidXx

    xXrkidXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    129
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    It only takes 4-5 seconds to switch, and I'm pretty sure it just goes straight to VoiceMail...

    But you get them later.

    And I have an icon that looks MUCH better from somewhere

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Rename to icon.png if it isn't already.

    It doesn't have the white crap around the edges.

    It works very, VERY well for me

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Battery lasts so much longer and it doesn't take very long to switch to 3G when I turn it back on.
  10. JakeMan

    JakeMan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    18
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Good idea, but isn't the SBSettings toggle good enough? It takes not even 3 seconds for me to switch, and it's under my control also. Personally would not get it.

Share This Page