Apple says a restore DOESNT wipe anything off an iPod....

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by viperGTS, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. viperGTS

    viperGTS Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Apple says that "Deleted data is no longer accessible via the iPod touch user interface, but isn’t
    permanently erased from your iPod touch until it’s overwritten by new data." So does this mean that, before restoring, you should go to Settings, then go to "Erase all content and settings."?
  2. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    A DFU Restore + Setting it up as a new iPod would erase everything.
  3. Rhythmoflife

    Rhythmoflife New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    If you want I guess, restoring it still keeps your notes your contacts and everything depending on the last time you backed up. I'm not jailbroken and yet in the corner of my iPod it still says ipoop instaed of a iPod.
  4. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    That's because you Restored it from a Backup of your jailbroken iPod.
  5. xXrkidXx

    xXrkidXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    129
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    And didn't change your MIM Back.. If you were going to restore from backup I mean.
  6. EviLCorsaiR

    EviLCorsaiR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    It's the same on a computer. Even if you 'format' the hard drive, all the data is still on there. That's why people say when you get rid of an old computer, for privacy it's best to completely (physically) destroy the hard drive.

    What 'deleting' any data actually does-on all storage systems-is just marking the data as 'deleted'. It's still there, you just can't see it. All your 'free space' is likely taken up by old files.

    And basically, new files are written over those old files. It's only when overwritten completely that a file is truly 'deleted'.
  7. Shawa

    Shawa Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Is is true for any storage medium.

Share This Page