Apple Lying?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Midnite8, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. Midnite8

    Midnite8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    My friend said that the people from the Apple Store told him he needs to turn his iPhone on and off occasionally or the touch pad will become unresponsive, is this true or are the lying?
  2. erichuynh05

    erichuynh05 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Lies? Cause i never turn my iPhone off. Just on stand by. Unless it freezes and needs to reboot
  3. murphmanny

    murphmanny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well, it's not entirely true. You don't have to have like a "schedule" to turn your iPhone on and off. But, if your screen does become unresponsive then a reboot would be necessary and would fix that problem.
  4. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Uuum.... I hope it isn't 0_0

    I've never heard of such a thing. I don't see what would cause this.
  5. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    It's just like any other computer and should be rebooted every now and then
  6. alxcoolastru

    alxcoolastru Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    What that's the craziest thing I ever heard !

    That's immposible, I'm not lying but the last time I turned off my iPhone 3g was never I allways but it to sleep only. Plus I allways load it very much and had my touch screen wet a bunch of times or in freezing temperatures and never ever had a single problem with my touch screen. The same for my iPod Touch 2nd generation 32gb, so that what you heard is a pure lie !
  7. AvodCS

    AvodCS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Think about it, it makes no sense.
  8. Muffin15

    Muffin15 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    it sounds like they might've been talking about freeing up memory, such as the notion that its "healthy" for you ipod to reboot after installing a new application
  9. TheKKKiller

    TheKKKiller New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I've fixed tons of iPods and iPhones, trust me, it's not true. What the store told your friend was that the screen may become unresponsive, which is true because the memory will exceed the limits, and freeze the iPod/iPhone. This is rare, and can be fixed with a simple restart

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10
    Supposedly that is how the iPhone updates its roaming capabilities. I know on different carriers and different phones you could do it by dialing *228 (or something like that).

    I asked AT+T about doing that with the iPhone and they said that a power cycle will do the same thing.

Share This Page