Apache

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by FluxBox, Dec 29, 2007.

1. FluxBox

FluxBox New Member

What can the Apache webserver on the iPoT be used for, idealy?
  2. simonrichards150

simonrichards150 New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    unfortunately I have yet to find a good use for it...if you want to take some docs with you you can store them on the ipod and view them by navigating to localhost in safari...
  3. curthard89

curthard89 New Member

Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    running php, not sure about sql, but ive got php up and running on it

Please Register or Log in to view images

, nifty as im a php developer to just be able to take my sites with me lol, cunning....
  4. Rawd

Rawd New Member

Can someone explain to me how t do this? I have an html website stored on my ipod, and I want to be able to access it.
  5. FluxBox

FluxBox New Member

Alright. I just don't see a use for a webserver on the iPoT. But I'd love to see its capabilities.

* Apache
    * Lighttpd
    * MouseHole
    * Tinyproxy
    ^^ All applications that I would love to see what they can do in the near future. Especially Tinyproxy.

EDIT: I installed Tinyproxy, but how would one go about using it? There's no icon on Springboard, much like OpenSSH. How do I use it?
  6. FluxBox

FluxBox New Member

Well, you'd probably need experience in this field of work.

I can get some information to you in a week or so, seeing as my father knows more about this angle of computing than me.

However, I know you need to install a webserver, ie: Apache, to host the file.

As for actually getting it on the web, I have no idea right now.

EDIT: Actually, if you take your house's IP (not the 192.168.1.100 that your iPod has) and set it to a domain, I think it SHOULD work. I'll try it later, actually.
  7. Rawd

Rawd New Member

Thanks for the help, but I think you're misunderstanding... or I wasn't clear enough...