iOS 3.1 Anyway to get gamecenter on older devices?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Dabone, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Dabone

    Dabone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    48
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Is there? I assume it's not as easy as editing a plist. Does anyone know?
  2. Lux2GS

    Lux2GS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,678
    Likes Received:
    138
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    If its on 4.1, you should be able to do it by editing the N82AP / N72AP plist file, adding <key>gamekit</key> (correct if wrong)
    <true/>

    If youre on 4.0, you gotta download it.
  3. Dabone

    Dabone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    48
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I meant for ipod touch 1g and iphone 2g
  4. bstevenhaagen

    bstevenhaagen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,633
    Likes Received:
    125
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Apple confirmed that Game Center will work on the 2G ipod touches. Just upgrade to 4.1 if you haven't already.
  5. OlyKwon

    OlyKwon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    not for iPhone 1st generation nor iPod Touch 1st generation, untill someone writes a PwnageTool like application to patch the hardware ID's and the bootloader in the 3g's (not 3gs) Firmware then iOS4 Applications will never see the light of day on these legacy devices, theoretically it's very possible for a 2g iPhone but as for the 1st generation iPod Touch... Not likely as theres hardware differences, MAYBE kext modifications for a 2g iPod might get the hardware working properly it isnt guaranteed. I've tried patching the plist files in a dump of the 4.0 for 3g and rebuilding the firmware but itunes still rejected it. However there was a team that was able to get passed iBoot and actually get it to boot. Then they ran into application problems due to CPU instructions i believe, so there might also have to be some kernal mods done
  6. tw23

    tw23 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,622
    Likes Received:
    510
    first you got to get the gamecenter.app then u got to add what that person said to the plist. i read something like that and i think thats how u do it

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page