Anyone having trouble connecting to wifi?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by French, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. French

    French New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I picked up a 32 gig 4th gen iPod Touch from Best Buy today. Brought it home, fired up the router, added the MAC address, then went to add the password to the Touch. Tried it I don't know how many times, wouldn't connect. It wouldn't "join the network". So I rebooted the computer. Still a no go. Rebooted the modem and router...still a no go. Out of frustration I just kept trying to connect over and over, til it finally "took" as the router was coming back up.

    But I know someone else that can't get theirs to connect at all.

    What is everyone else's experience with getting onto wifi thus far?
  2. cubsfan2154

    cubsfan2154 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Maybe its your location or router, when im at my cousins it will be at 2-3 bars and wont connect.

    But my place its fine
  3. MynameIsIpod

    MynameIsIpod Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Return it. Now!
  4. 2fast4u5

    2fast4u5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Hold it a different way. Hold it the way you would on a(n) iPhone 4. (I'm being 100% serious)

    If that actually is the problem, I'm skipping this Generation.
  5. anonymous1

    anonymous1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    mines working perfectly!!
  6. yuyi64

    yuyi64 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Is your router broadcasting the SSID? If not, try turning it on. Also try turning off MAC filtering. My new 32gb 4th gen that I received yesterday connected to my wireless network immediately as soon as I typed in my network key.
  7. stainlessrat

    stainlessrat New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    So far, mine's working fine. My previous one (8 gig 2nd gen) has a nasty habit of dropping connectivity and taking a looong time to reconnect, but so far I haven't experienced that with a 32G 4G.
  8. tf24

    tf24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Mine works. And i feel better than my old 2G ever did. I get better range with the new one.
  9. ChrisGonzales90

    ChrisGonzales90 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Reminds me of the iPads... (the wifi issue has been fixed on those)

    but not sure what kind of router you have. With mine, i just have the network and the password. No MAC address or anything of that manner.

    I would double check to make sure the password is correct. Passwords are case sensitive. If that doesn't work, try creating a new network.
  10. Blackened

    Blackened Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    you entered the mac address? are you sure you're entering the correct wep?

Share This Page