Anyone Get Classic working on 5th Gen?

Discussion in 'iPod classic, nano, etc.' started by Mint-Berry Crunch, Oct 19, 2007.

  1. Mint-Berry Crunch

    Mint-Berry Crunch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Yea, I have a 5th generation iPod Video (not 5.5th...) and I tried to install the classic firmware modification on my iPod but I ended up with a constant boot-loop. What I did was I opened the file with iPod-Wizard using the "Firmware File" selection and then I clicked "Write to iPod". It didnt work. I used this for the project. Anyone have any ideas? Perhaps I should download resources and images and manually install it?
  2. Complexis

    Complexis Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    It is very unstable and can easily cause your unit to brick or crash. I did attempt it, and I ended up having to restore my iPod because of basically the same problem you had.
  3. Mint-Berry Crunch

    Mint-Berry Crunch Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    You didnt have to restore, if you had another working firmware file handy you could have written that to the iPod. Oh well, once it gets more stable and more updated, Im gonna do it and take it to an Apple Store and show off.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. Forgotten Memory

    Forgotten Memory New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I completely disagree. Unless you dont know what you're doing everything goes out fine.

    Simple you put the 5G firmware with the 5G iPod, and the 5.5G firmware with the 5.5G iPod, you put the wrong one and you got yourself a problem.
  5. music4life

    music4life Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    39
    And bluntly, its nearly impossible to brick your iPod. Trust me, theres been times where i've tried to prove it, and it all works out with a simple restore.
  6. rokrboy

    rokrboy Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,475
    Likes Received:
    29
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I got it to work, but it isn't that great so far......im just waiting for a later release . The menu transitions are awful, but it does look great. I hate purchased songs on itunes not working on my ipod.
  7. Collateral

    Collateral Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    How'd you get the classic firmware working on the 5G? Can you upload your firmware file?
  8. Collateral

    Collateral Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Nevermind I googled it, and I got it working. Its so tight.
  9. ipodtouchman

    ipodtouchman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you do it?
  10. Collateral

    Collateral Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    The Tut Is Finished!!!

Share This Page