iOS 4.1 Any chance of Custom Boot Logo?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Ouchy_S, Oct 9, 2010.

  1. Ouchy_S

    Ouchy_S Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Seeing as the limera1n jailbreak is 'supposedly' pwned4life, I assume this means it is a hardware exploit. Does this mean that we could have custom boot logo's on iPod Touch 3G's?
  2. y2kss66

    y2kss66 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Theoretically yes. I'm sure it will happen soon.
  3. samethernet

    samethernet Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    yes it does, but like posted few times already there are no tools which do it yet
  4. picklejw

    picklejw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Yes/No, this is a tethered jailbreak, the only reason that we dont have to be tethered on reboot is because we use the bootrom exploit to upload a userland exploit into the firmware. So no, maybe it can be fixed soon. But what you have is a userland jailbreak.
  5. Ouchy_S

    Ouchy_S Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    No it's not...
    I've rebooted about 10 times now. And I just rebooted now.
  6. SuperMario

    SuperMario Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    A userland exploit is used to make this untethered
  7. ryanangus

    ryanangus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re-read that post.
  8. JKJones

    JKJones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    245
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Yes because of the userland exploit he stole from comex he is able to make it untethered for now.
  9. Ouchy_S

    Ouchy_S Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    I don't understand what I've said wrong.

    And sorry I'm lost. It's untethered, but at the same time it's not?
  10. jotokun

    jotokun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    59
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Its not an untethered bootrom exploit. Limerain is two exploits, a tethered bootrom exploit and an untethered userland exploit that gets executed through the bootrom exploit. So yes, you can reboot all you want. On firmwares after 4.1, though, it'll become tethered until another userland exploit is found.

Share This Page