Anti-cracking measures?

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by sageDieu, Mar 26, 2010.

1. sageDieu

sageDieu Banned

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I'm a noob with developing but I am an upcoming App Store application. The guy I'm working with is a big anti-piracy guy and has tasked me with figuring out a way/some ways to stop crackers from distributing his app for free. I was wondering if anybody here could shed some light on the subject. I know you may not want to release your ideas in public, so a PM would be appreciated, Thanks!

[studangerous has given permission for this thread - keep it legal pls]
  2. narwal13

narwal13 Active Member

Device:
    5G iPod touch
    uh....this is still piracy related...which is against teh rules............

mods?
  3. Bubalooshi

Bubalooshi Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Make the app free.

However, leave the user with pretty much nothing until they use the in-app purchase option to unlock anything else that is included in the application.

The only problem I can see with that would be ignorant people giving 1 star for doing so.
    (I don't know if it's possible to pirate those, too... So this idea may not help)

EDIT: Darn. My idea is useless.

Please Register or Log in to view images

@narwal: Nah, this is okay.
    @Mods: If my post seemed 'sketchy,' please edit it. I don't want any trouble.

4. dunuck

dunuck Active Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    My advise to you is make the app as good as possible, good quality app, well priced and worth the money. that way you will keep piracy numbers as low as possible

No matter how well you patched the app, it will get cracked, i am sorry to tell you that, that is just how things are. There are many recent examples but i am not sure if i can go that far in detail because of the rules

The only product i can think off that has not been cracked yet is beejive because it has server checks every-time you use the app