Another question about 3G iphone

Discussion in 'WWDC 2008 discussions' started by TheConqueror, Jun 23, 2008.

  1. TheConqueror

    TheConqueror New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok guys first think i want you to know is that i live in Canada

    so basically i have a contract with rogers on my old cellphone, which is not over yet

    is it possible for me to buy an iphone 3G and transfer my contract onto it, instead of buying a new contract? because i dont think my parents are willing to pay for two contracts

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. potroast32

    potroast32 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    search before you post there are plenty of other threads that address this topic
  3. C000LIN

    C000LIN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    obviously not u have to have a contract with AT&T to get a 3G..
  4. GrimmGreen

    GrimmGreen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    3
    ya know , you COULD have just answered his question
  5. TheConqueror

    TheConqueror New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    3
    ok guys how about posting something useful.. or perhaps a link to another thread? because i have not seen a thread which gives a noobs explanation..
  6. potroast32

    potroast32 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes you can transfer it on to a new contract but your 2-year commitment will restart so you have another 2-years. now say thank you i love you i'm sorry for saying you didnt post something useful
  7. BCS321

    BCS321 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    4
    In America you do. He lives in Canada, which isn't America. We aren't the only country on the planet you know. And don't say "obviously," especially because you were wrong, which makes you look bad (worse).
  8. TheConqueror

    TheConqueror New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    3
    thanks for the help
  9. flattop95

    flattop95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Yea, you should be able to transfer no problem, its just like changing regular phones,
  10. Joe Rossignol

    Joe Rossignol Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,500
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    As long as you are eligible for an upgrade (I am not sure what Rogers' upgrading agreements are), you should be able to transfer over your plan, although you'll be beginning a new contract with Rogers, so you'll have to be with Rogers for a minimum 3 years. Also, remember that you'll be paying $30/month extra for the data plan.

Share This Page