Android on 2g and more!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Vinca, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. Vinca

    Vinca New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Considering that the iPod touch 2g is extremely popular, and more so than the first-generation edge-only iPhone, I think porting android to the ipod touch 2g is a huge priority.

    I have much experience with android, being a dev for the g1 roms, but I don't think that the current build by planet can be used on other devices besides the aforementioned iPhone.

    If anyone can prove me wrong, or show the community how to make img's for the iPod touch 2g, we would be very appreciative.

    I hope this thread doesn't get buried.

    -Vinca.
  2. yanks111890

    yanks111890 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    36
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    EDIT (never mind I read something wrong the baseband hack part is wrong): It would be a lot of work. From what I understand, the hack is at the baseband level (correct me if I'm wrong...guess I am wrong lol), hence the fact it won't work on an iPod Touch.

    As for porting it over and finding a way to make it work on an iPod, I can't help you out there, but I would like this on my Touch as well
  3. Vinca

    Vinca New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ok thanks. I think it might be easier to just enable the multitasking feature from 4.0 for the 128 devices, to make the most of them.

    That's what I'm about.
  4. shortperson1026

    shortperson1026 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    21
    Imagine android on the iPad.... That would be the best android tablet ever!
  5. Volcomstone000095

    Volcomstone000095 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    But you would have to re-write Android for the iPad dimensions of 1024x768 pixels and the apps would have to be re written.
  6. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Would be a pain to get everything working for the iPad.
  7. mangels09

    mangels09 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    i just hope that someday the 3gen will get a bootrom exploit, so that it will be possible to get it to run android. (and so i wont have to be tethered ever again)

Share This Page