An open letter to Andy Weekes

Discussion in 'iTunes App Store Games & Apps' started by spoonforknife, Jun 13, 2009.

1. spoonforknife

spoonforknife Retired Moderator

An open letter to Andy Weekes

Andy Weekes,
    I am a developer, just like you. Like you, I take pride in my work, try the hardest I can to get my application noticed. I know how hard it is to get your software noticed. However, unlike you, I have enough respect for the developer community to not kick another dev while he is down for a matter that is beyond his control, and part of the engine that he is using.

Not only are you kicking him while he is down, but you are blatantly spamming and advertising at their expense. The idea is to do this discreetly. Not to do it to one of the most well-known and well-respected developers out there: Craig Hockenberry. He created one of the most iconic and successful Twitter clients ever: Twitterrific. That's not discreet. That's you pissing him off enough for him to publicly call you out on his Twitter stream. That's enough for a whole sh*tload of people to call you out. Upon receiving these negative responses from Twitter users, you act like you have no idea why they might be reacting this way. You called a user rude. And this isn't?

In addition, your piece of sh*t application cannot get enough positive testimonials that you have to include your own opinion, from your own Twitter account. I, along with many other members on a 300,000 member iPod touch forum, have never heard of your fork off of Twitterfon: Twitterena.

Oh wait, what was that?! You mean to say that because the code you ripped wasn't based on MGTwitterEngine that by default it was not affected by the so called "Twitpocalyse?" Do you mean to say that you are so incompetent that you ripped somebody else's code, kicked another developer while he was down, ragged on Twitter users using the iconic client? Do you mean to say that you're a hypocritical oaf?