iOS 4.0 Am i stuffed?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by CBTOUCH, Jul 13, 2010.

1. CBTOUCH

CBTOUCH New Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I'm a complete noob at this BUT....

I bought a secondhand iphone 3g last week which came with OS4 installed. I managed to jailbreak it using 'redsnow' but it lags sooooooooooo much and i was hoping to be able to downgrade to either 3.1.2 or 3.1.3.

Are you able to downgrade an 8gb 3g iphone (model: MB489B) WITHOUT SHSH blobs??
  2. bobby681

bobby681 Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yeah you can downgrade with no trouble, just download the ipsw and shift+restore to it
  3. CBTOUCH

CBTOUCH New Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Thanks for that. Am i correct in thinking Shsh blobs are only required when downgrading a 3GS from OS4?
  4. studangerous

studangerous Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    iPhone 3Gis pwned4life. You can downgrade it to any firmware due to the 24kpwn bootorm exploit.

pro tip: install and jailbreak iOS4 but DON'T enable multitasking and backgrounds as they WILL make it lag like crazy.

iDevices released since mid-production of iPhone 3GS (i.e. some iPhone 3GS and everything after) have the new as yet unhacked bootrom and hard-coded firmware activation requirement using SHSH blobs.
  5. CBTOUCH

CBTOUCH New Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Thanks for that, much appreciated.

I read before i jailbroke about the lag on the 3g when multitasking and wallpapers were installed, so i didnt install them but there is still so much lag compared to the iphone 2g 3.1.2, that i've just sold. OS4 just isnt as good as i expected (probably fine on the 3gs).
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Onced restored back to 3.1.2, whats the best way of jailbreaking and unlocking? As mentioned above, i used 'redsnow' to jailbreak before. Can i jailbreak and unlock again using 'redsnow' for 3.1.2? Its currently locked to o2.