iOS 3.1 afc2add without wi-fi?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by pheonix_1018, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. pheonix_1018

    pheonix_1018 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I was just wondering if there was anyway to install afc2add without using Cydia, and without SSHing. Because I need it so I can use iPhoneExplorer to get root filesystem access.

    I understand this is probably impossible as any "manual" way to install afc2 would probably need access to the root filesystem.

    Anyone know a way?

    (I use SSH all the time, and have never needed afc2, but I don't currently have wi-fi access and it didn't occur to me that in order to get root access via USB I would have to have afc2.)

    EDIT: And yes I realize the simple solution is to wait until I have wi-fi and download afc2add but I am impatient and would like to get access TODAY if possible.
  2. jmanprousk

    jmanprousk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
  3. studangerous

    studangerous Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    1. You MUST be jailbroken otherwise the root is locked (even if you could get afc2add).
    2. Then you either need to download iFile from Cydia and manually edit the /System/Library/Lockdown/Services.plist following this guide OR you need to install afc2add from Cydia...
  4. pheonix_1018

    pheonix_1018 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Thanks for your help.
    But I just waited until I got wi-fi and downloaded afc2add.
  5. studangerous

    studangerous Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
  6. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    There needs to be SSH over 3G for iPhones. That would be cool. XD
  7. atwan243

    atwan243 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you get cydia apps without wifi i know about cydia but it wont work and what exactly is ssh

Share This Page