Advice.

Discussion in 'Music, Movies, TV, and Videos' started by NinetyFour, Jun 5, 2010.

1. NinetyFour

NinetyFour Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Hey guys,

I'm at a serious fork in the road right now. I've been playing piano since I was 6 years old, and I'm 16 right now. I've been playing Royal Conservatory Of Music (which is classical music). Currently I'm at grade 9 of 10. I started hating classical music since I was 9. But I was forced to keep going by my ******-esque mother. Now I don't think I can take it anymore. I feel pretty good whenever I'm not playing piano, then when I bring myself to practice, I'm depressed for the next couple days. I hate it so much. I've thought about quitting since I was 9 and have hated it ever since. But I've been playing for more than 10 years, I don't know if I should quit. I'm almost there, so close. I keep telling myself, you just have 2 more grades left. I feel like I can do it, but when I start playing, it seems more and more impossible. I can't play this music if I hate it, simple as that. I've been wrestling with this for the past year and I need some advice. My mother says she'll let me stop if I really want to and if it really is killing me, but she says that I'll regret it in the future, and that seed of doubt is now planted in my head. I need a non-biased 3rd party to help me out, which is you guys. What do I do? I get depressing thoughts whenever I think of this.
  2. Vince

Vince Active Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Well playing piano is a really great thing to know how to do. I figure after 10years you know how to play, and probably don't truly need to learn more if you don't want to.

On the plus side, Playing any sort of musical instrument looks great to colleges when you apply, although there are a lot of piano players out there so you really do want to be one of the best if that's what you're going for.