Ad-hoc or PEAP on 1.1.4??

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.4 Discussions' started by anup2104, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. anup2104

    anup2104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    can anyone confirm if 1.1.4 has fixed the ad-hoc connection bug? and also does the touch support PEAP (wpa-enterprise) networking on 1.1.4?

    Thanks
  2. Oliver Buerkler

    Oliver Buerkler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    according to our tests here, the ad-hoc bug is unfortunately still present.
    We only manage to get an ad-hoc connection when we first connect to an access point and the to the ad-hoc network.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Sad but true,
    Oliver
  3. Requilence

    Requilence New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm.. About Ad-Hoc. about 1 month ago during experiments with firmwares I decide problem with message "unable to connect..."
    I don't know how. But now there isn't problems with it. I make backup of my itunes folder in appdata. And when i restore my touch i simply replace apple folder at backuped folder and resore ipod settings.
    I can posts my files. I think that can help some peoples that have this problem if somebody can understand what excatly in my settings can decide problem.

    P.S. i haven't problems with wi-fi on 1.1.3 too when i resore settings.
    I'm not test 1.1.4 yet.
  4. Requilence

    Requilence New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is file /var/preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.wifi.plist

    SSID of my wi-fi is whome
    no wep

    i think solution is add
    Code:
    <key>whome</key>
    		<string>B5F414D6-F94A-4E7D-BE2E-E3673A168230</string>
    in <key>Custom network settings</key>

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>AllowEnable</key>
    	<integer>1</integer>
    	<key>Custom network settings</key>
    	<dict>
    		<key>rq</key>
    		<string>3AA2CD77-C024-4209-8CAD-B8FFE5E1FAE0</string>
    		<key>whome</key>
    		<string>B5F414D6-F94A-4E7D-BE2E-E3673A168230</string>
    	</dict>
    	<key>JoinMode</key>
    	<string>Preferred</string>
    	<key>List of known networks</key>
    	<array>
    		<dict>
    			<key>AGE</key>
    			<integer>340</integer>
    			<key>APPLE80211KEY_BSSID_CURRENT</key>
    			<string>4e:5d:85:2f:f5:c4</string>
    			<key>APPLE80211KEY_BSSID_SAVED</key>
    			<string>4e:5d:85:2f:f5:c4</string>
    			<key>AP_MODE</key>
    			<integer>1</integer>
    			<key>ASSOC_FLAGS</key>
    			<integer>3</integer>
    			<key>BEACON_INT</key>
    			<integer>10</integer>
    			<key>CAPABILITIES</key>
    			<integer>34</integer>
    			<key>CHANNEL</key>
    			<integer>6</integer>
    			<key>CHANNEL_FLAGS</key>
    			<integer>8</integer>
    			<key>HIDDEN_NETWORK</key>
    			<false/>
    			<key>NOISE</key>
    			<integer>0</integer>
    			<key>RATES</key>
    			<array>
    				<integer>1</integer>
    				<integer>2</integer>
    				<integer>5</integer>
    				<integer>11</integer>
    				<integer>6</integer>
    				<integer>9</integer>
    				<integer>12</integer>
    				<integer>18</integer>
    				<integer>24</integer>
    				<integer>36</integer>
    				<integer>48</integer>
    				<integer>54</integer>
    			</array>
    			<key>RSSI</key>
    			<integer>67</integer>
    			<key>SSID</key>
    			<data>
    			d2hvbWU=
    			</data>
    			<key>SSID_STR</key>
    			<string>whome</string>
    			<key>WEPKeyLen</key>
    			<integer>0</integer>
    			<key>authMode</key>
    			<integer>0</integer>
    			<key>isWPA</key>
    			<integer>0</integer>
    			<key>scanWasDirected</key>
    			<false/>
    		</dict>
    		
    	</array>
    	<key>SignalStrengthThreshold</key>
    	<integer>10</integer>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    
  5. anup2104

    anup2104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Requilance, can you tell me how to do this? So youre saying add this

    <key>whome</key>
    <string>B5F414D6-F94A-4E7D-BE2E-E3673A168230</string>

    to my com.apple.wifi.plist at the bottom and then the other one as well? Let me know how to do it...and also obviously that coding is specific to your network how do i change it to personalise for my network?#

    Thanks so much for your response
  6. Requilence

    Requilence New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    in part <key>List of known networks</key>
    ipod/iphone add known networks/ and if he know wi-fi network there isn't problems with AD-HOC.
    But by odd cause error "unable to connect" shows add ipod doesn't add ad-hoc wi-fi to known networks. But on my ipod it added. How? Bug.

    So you can add it !!!
    Some FAQ =)
    you must know SSID of wi-fi you want to properly work. MAC address of your wi-fi adapter. (you can watch it in wi-fi connection status in windows).
    You must try connect ipod to your wi-fi adapter. Ipod says "unable.."

    open /var/preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.wifi.plist by ssh
    you should convince that after

    Code:
    <key>Custom network settings</key>
    	<dict>
    
    exists line with your SSID and code
    after that.
    find
    Code:
    <key>List of known networks</key>
    after <array> add
    Code:
    <dict>
    			<key>AGE</key>
    			<integer>340</integer>
    			<key>APPLE80211KEY_BSSID_CURRENT</key>
    			<string>[B]xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx[/B]</string>
    			<key>APPLE80211KEY_BSSID_SAVED</key>
    			<string>[B]xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx[/B]</string>
    			<key>AP_MODE</key>
    			<integer>1</integer>
    			<key>ASSOC_FLAGS</key>
    			<integer>3</integer>
    			<key>BEACON_INT</key>
    			<integer>10</integer>
    			<key>CAPABILITIES</key>
    			<integer>34</integer>
    			<key>CHANNEL</key>
    			<integer>6</integer>
    			<key>CHANNEL_FLAGS</key>
    			<integer>8</integer>
    			<key>HIDDEN_NETWORK</key>
    			<false/>
    			<key>NOISE</key>
    			<integer>0</integer>
    			<key>RATES</key>
    			<array>
    				<integer>1</integer>
    				<integer>2</integer>
    				<integer>5</integer>
    				<integer>11</integer>
    				<integer>6</integer>
    				<integer>9</integer>
    				<integer>12</integer>
    				<integer>18</integer>
    				<integer>24</integer>
    				<integer>36</integer>
    				<integer>48</integer>
    				<integer>54</integer>
    			</array>
    			<key>RSSI</key>
    			<integer>67</integer>
    			<key>SSID</key>
    			<data>
    			[B]****nameinbase64code****[/B]
    			</data>
    			<key>SSID_STR</key>
    			<string>[B]***NAME***[/B]</string>
    			<key>WEPKeyLen</key>
    			<integer>0</integer>
    			<key>authMode</key>
    			<integer>0</integer>
    			<key>isWPA</key>
    			<integer>0</integer>
    			<key>scanWasDirected</key>
    			<false/>
    		</dict>
    
    
    where
    xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx - wi-fi adapter MAC that you try connect
    ***NAME*** - SSID of your Ad-hoc connection
    ****nameinbase64code**** - SSID of your Ad-hoc connection in base64 code - you can watch it here http://dezen.ru/code.php
    save changes to your ipod. turn off wi-fi in ipod settings and set close. open and turn on. wi-fi automaticly connect properly !!!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. anup2104

    anup2104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope doesnt seem to work for me! thanks anyway
  8. Requilence

    Requilence New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    you do something wrong. do you write right ssid and base64 ssid?
  9. Requilence

    Requilence New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh.. i forget. you must have ad-hoc connection on PC without WEP or other crypting. This only for open connection
  10. anup2104

    anup2104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    i see...well im at a uni so i dont think i should keep it with no wep or wpa key. I tried it for my adhoc without a key for a minute and it still didnt work. And yes i did all that stuff....im obviously making a mistake somewhere though..

Share This Page