iPhone 3G activating iphone 3g os3.1

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jazz5000, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. jazz5000

    jazz5000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    hi
    i have a iphone 3g that does not let me activate without a sim, i get the connect to itunes message and can only make emergency calls. I have updated the firmware to 3.1. Is there a way of activating the iphone using software so i can use it as a ipod?


    Thanks
    Jaz
  2. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10
    You can hactivate it with a Mac using Pwnage Tool (could do it on Windows if you follow the guide and have the custom firmware).

    Aside from that you will probably have to get an AT+T SIM card (assuming you are in the U.S.) to activate it; it does not have to be an active SIM card but any SIM from a legitimate iPhone carrier.
  3. Raist3001

    Raist3001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    27
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    In order to activate the iPhone through iTunes, you need an iPhone plan. Simply having an at&t SIM card is not enough.

    If you do not have an at&t iPhone plan, you will need to jailbreak. This will activate the phone for you.
  4. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10

    To activate it all the way yes it has to be an iPhone plan. To just get past the activation screen (and use it as an iPod) it does not even need to be an active SIM; just an at+t SIM.
  5. Raist3001

    Raist3001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    27
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    I have an at&t plan. Non iPhone. And I have never been able to get past the activation screen without jailbreaking.
  6. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just tried it again with an at+t SIM from a GoPhone and got it to work. This was on a 3G and the latest version of iTunes.

    I also tried it with T-Mobile and Airtel (from India) and no luck; I used to be able to do it with the T-Mobile SIM but that was with earlier software.

Share This Page