iPhone 3G Activate Iphone 3G from HK

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by motogp, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. motogp

    motogp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    I bought a iphone 3G from HongKong and try to use it in China (china mobile).
    It does not find network; thus impossible to make calls.
    I thought it was related to the activatation; then i install and synchronise with Itunes 8.
    Still do not find network.

    Anybody have an idea ?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. kixphlat

    kixphlat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Wow that's really weird. I also have a factory unlocked iPhone from New Zealand, but it worked in Australia and indonesia =/
    Try restoring or sending it back for a replacement
  3. thechungster

    thechungster Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I heard if you purchase an iPhone 3G from HK it's unlocked, but it locks itself to the first SIM card it comes in contact with... I'm not sure :/
  4. motogp

    motogp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    what should be the message on the screen in case of locked phone ?
    I do not have any message except that it is impossible to make a phone call.
    Message on the network bar is "no service"
  5. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10
    What is the model of your iPhone?

    Settings > General > About and what is the model?

    It might not be a factory unlocked phone...
  6. motogp

    motogp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    model is MB496ZP
    Version 2.2.1 (5H11)
  7. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10
    According to Apple (Link) that should be an unlocked phone.

    I wish I had one to play with but I don't have one yet. I would maybe try a factory restore and possible a new SIM.

    Just did a quick search and found this:

    "Culture aside, China Mobile's 3G technology could also cause problems for Apple. The carrier is using the TD-SCDMA standard for 3G data access, but the iPhone 3G doesn't support it. If China Mobile were to distribute the iPhone, Apple would either need to switch 3G chips or produce special iPhones for the Chinese market. China Telecom and China Unicom both have plans to use 3G standards that the iPhone already supports (CDMA2000 and WCDMA, respectively), making them even more attractive to Apple." (Source)

    It might be a problem with China Mobile and not the iPhone. I'd maybe try to find a different carrier SIM.
  8. vivy

    vivy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    In this case you can use a magicsim card to have a try, maybe that will work.Good luck.
  9. motogp

    motogp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    the phone is not lock so i am not supposed to use a magic sim card.
    i am not sure whether it is related to the activation on Itunes .
    I have connected the phone on I tunes but still impossible to have network and make calls.
  10. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Did you jailbreak it? If you activate a factory unlocked phone with quickpwn or pwngetool (when it asks "do you have a contract that would bla bla" and you click yes) it locks them.

    If not just try another sim card. It should work.

Share This Page