Able to surf the internet without any connection!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Prawnfart, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. Prawnfart

    Prawnfart New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, i have unlocked my iPhone with ziphone and I'm currently using it in singapore. I shouldn't be able to access EDGE and i have checked that my wireless is off. But i can surf the internet, i managed to access www.apple.com and i realised that my emails are updating by itself. Can someone explain or help me with this ?
  2. iball

    iball New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Leprechauns. Keep an eye on your gold.
  3. stund

    stund New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Coule be a error with your wifi switch? Go to a site which tells you your ip address, then match it either to whichever carrier you are using right now, or to a closeby internet connection.
  4. UTorange

    UTorange Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    ha who cares? Its free internet
  5. redforeva

    redforeva New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    3
    Maybe SingTel has both voice/data and no edge xd
  6. Prawnfart

    Prawnfart New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    no no you don't understand. I suspect it may not be free internet. And im using FW 1.1.4. My WIFI is definitely off. So are my EDGE settings, its empty.
  7. Prawnfart

    Prawnfart New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using STARHUB in singapore. i don't want to pay more than what i used and definitely not wanting to pay for what my iPhone is doing on its own.
  8. redforeva

    redforeva New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    3
    You might be using GPRS, which means...

    Check your billing statement ):
  9. Prawnfart

    Prawnfart New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i disable GPRS then ? It's a waste of money.
  10. flattop95

    flattop95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    just consider yourself lucky and don't talk about it, otherwise it will stop working.

Share This Page