AAARRGGGHHHH!!!!!! Must copy iPoT Root Filesystem!!!

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by kevipapo1, Dec 15, 2007.

  1. kevipapo1

    kevipapo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    3
    Installing this toolchain is hard! I'm at the step where you're supposed to get the root filesystem. Well, I keep getting errors about copying over. Every attempt has failed. Is there some simpler way to do this?

    Thanks

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    I don't know, how are you trying to get it?

    The easiest way is just copy and pasting from your own iPod.
  3. Masky64

    Masky64 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are you using your FTP client to copy the files?
  4. kevipapo1

    kevipapo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, I am using my FTP client, which quits every time. I'm just gonna decrypt the firmware, but I don't understand how to do that, but if you know how to I'd love to hear it. I'm using Leopard.
  5. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    Even if you decrypt the firmware, you'll still have symlink issues. There's no way around restoring them.
  6. kevipapo1

    kevipapo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok, I got the 1.1.1 iPhone Filesystem from a very trustable source that doesn't do anything illegal

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Now I'm trying to make the Hello World app. I keep getting an error:

    Macintosh-2:hello world iPoT kevinsnyder$ make
    arm-apple-darwin-gcc -c hello.m -o hello.o
    make: arm-apple-darwin-gcc: Command not found
    make: *** [hello.o] Error 127
    Macintosh-2:hello world iPoT kevinsnyder$

    I think this is happening because I installed everything while being on my desktop, whereas terminal starts in your user folder, not the desktop. Do you think that's the problem? If so do I just restart the installation or do I have to delete some files first?
  7. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    Just edit your makefile to compile with the full path of wherever you saved the compiler.
  8. kevipapo1

    kevipapo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm restarting the toolchain install again. I noticed that in some parts it had you go back 2 directories. the desktop takes 3 directories to go back to the HDD, but the startup directory takes 2, so it should work this time

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page