A cool but useless "feature" on the iPod touch 4

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by b777forever, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. b777forever

    b777forever Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,099
    Likes Received:
    344
    Device:
    iPhone
    If you restore your iPod touch from your iPhone backup you will get the option for tethering under network settings. Of course, the iPod touch cannot tether, but I tried it anyway to tether the wifi, but nothing happened. I know this is a kind of a useless thread, but I thought it was cool, so I decided to share with you guys and gals. Plus you can say to your Zune HD buddies that your touch can tether, while their HD can't.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    That's in the settings plist. Nice find though.
  3. iRa1n

    iRa1n Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    All i can say is that looks quite trippy with both pictures beside each other it makes it look like 1 screen
  4. shortperson1026

    shortperson1026 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    21
    They should add this feature so you can use the iPod Touch as a wifi card for computers that don't have Wifi... like a desktop... then you can share the internet connection via USB.
  5. jealousguy86

    jealousguy86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    i don't understand what any of that means.. can someone please explain it to me?
  6. b777forever

    b777forever Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,099
    Likes Received:
    344
    Device:
    iPhone
    Well, tethering is sharing your internet. So lets say Im on the road, and I want some internet (of course when I'm not the one driving), I just plug in my iPhone to my laptop and viola! Slow T-Mobile EDGE internet! (Or AT&T 3G, or whatever you have)
  7. mrtntv2

    mrtntv2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    33
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
  8. jordanvachon

    jordanvachon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    pdanet (in cydia tho) can do that , so i guess theres a way lol
  9. Chamilism

    Chamilism New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Does this mean you can add that through iBackupBot? If so, How?
  10. iBricked

    iBricked Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,874
    Likes Received:
    39
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    This looks bad. The backup has iPod in the corner. Was it an iPhone 4 backup?

Share This Page