8gb iPod Touch ?gen help please!!!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by AKAMacC, Jul 2, 2010.

1. AKAMacC

AKAMacC New Member

Hello and thanks for looking at this post and trying to help. I got a 8gb ipod touch from a friend who broke it trying to jailbreak it, he said he messed the keys codes or something up so now there is no way to get a computer to recognize it. I am just learning about this type of stuff but I have read a lot about it. here is what I can do with the ipod so far:

1. I can get it into recovery mode
    2. I can get it into DFU mode
    when it boots up normally, the apple logos appears then the thinking sign/sping thing goes and it seems to freeze right there. If I hold home it seems to make it think but I held home for 10 minutes and got nowhere.

When it's in recovery or DFU mode windows nor iTunes will recognize the device, I've tried diff computers (all but a mac), diff cords and reinstalling itunes. none will recognize the device. windows just keeps telling me "Unknown Device Detected!"
    I tried to manually install drivers (usbaapl.sys or whatever) but in the device manager it just has that yellow caution sign and itunes still wont pick it up to restore it.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Please Register or Log in to view images

2. thrq1161

thrq1161 New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    propably the problem is the usb cable,,,use another one, then restore it
  3. billyjoel

billyjoel New Member

Reboot your computer
    Open iTunes Make sure you are doing DFU mode the right way, make sure it is on DFU mode and restore

Once you enter DFU mode iTunes should show the iPod like this

4. ipitouchy

ipitouchy New Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yeah, you can never BRICK an iPod. This happened to me! This exact thing! Put into DFU and Restore.
  5. AKAMacC

AKAMacC New Member