5 questions about jailbreaking 3g ipod touch!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by soumya, Dec 7, 2009.

1. soumya

soumya Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    1) BlackRa1n is the only app that can jailbreak it right now if the firmware is 3.1.2?

2) What does a tethered jailbreak mean?

3) Can I restore the original firmware in the ipod once jailbroken so that the warranty remains intact?

4) What does cydia do and is it the best app in it's class?

5) Should I wait for greenpois0n?

Thanks

Please Register or Log in to view images

2. redfield

redfield New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I guess I'm a noob, but I'll try answering:

1) I guess blackra1n is the only jailbreak for 3.1.2 for Windows operating system. I don't know if there is a Pwn version for it as I don't have a Mac.

2) Means everytime you shut down your ipod you'll have to reboot it using the bootloader you have on your computer.

3) Yes.

4) Cydia is a repository for apps that are not in iPod's AppStore (maybe someone could help me with this answer)

5) I own an iPod Touch for about 1,5 month and I've never seen anything about this greenpois0n, although everyday I see there's much more about the iPod Touch to learn heheh

I hope I could help you. If anyone thinks my answers are incorrect or innacurate, please reply, you're doing soumya and me a favor

3. Cl8rs

Cl8rs Active Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Not a noob here:

1) Blackra1n can jailbreak 3.1, 3.1.1, 3.1.2

2) A tethered jailbreak means that if you turn off your iPod completely(hold power button and slide to power off), the only way to turn it back on is if you plug it into the computer and run blackra1n to boot it up normally.

3) Yes