5 minutes before purchase - tips?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Christina85, May 13, 2010.

1. Christina85

Christina85 New Member

Hello everyone,
    I am a total newbie - used an Ipod touch today for the first time and decided to buy. I will try not to bother you with idiotic questions (have done some reading before posting here). So only the following:

1. Is there any way how to get a good deal on 3rd gen. 32GB Ipod touch?

The best price I could find is 270$ on Amazon.
    Now I know e.g. that when you buy a Lenovo laptop using Lenovo's coupons and bing cashback you can save up to 30% of the total price. Is there anything like that for Ipod touch?

2. Extra warranty - yes or no? (e.g. 2 year warranty instead of 1)

3. A specific question I don't think any of you will probably be able to answer: Japanese handwritten input support, anytime soon?

To explain this to you: I am buying this Ipod basically because I need to use it as a portable dictionary while I am doing field research in Japan. There are good Jap. dictionaries for Ipod these days, but the OS support for Japanese in horrible (compared to Windows Mobile..that I am familiar with). Basically for inputting kanji you need to use Chinese input software (built-in but pretty bad for Japanese kanji is not the same). I could go into the details of this but my question is simple: does anyone here know whether Apple fill finally release a better Jap. support?

4. I need multitasking (in order to jump from one dictionary to another): my understanding is that the to be released 4.0 should support this. Will I have to pay for an OS upgrade if I buy Ipod now? (I am leaving in 3 weeks and have to buy it before I go).

Thanks and hope for your help,
    Christina
  2. TheTouchNoob

TheTouchNoob New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    4. Jailbreak it and search for Backgrounder on Cydia.
    Then u can open 2 dict. at 1 time

Please Register or Log in to view images

3. Christina85

Christina85 New Member