iOS 4.0 4.0 Beta 4 Expire on you? Heres how to fix it..

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by xXrkidXx, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. xXrkidXx

    xXrkidXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    129
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    What you need is to be jailbroken with redsn0w(Which everybody should be anyways.) or PwnageTool

    Grab iFunBox if you don't already have it and a plist editor.

    SSH to /System/Library/CoreServices and use your plist editor to open the SystemVersion.plist

    Remove the Release Type and Beta string, then Change the build version from the beta 4 one to 8A293.

    Then Reboot, Don't panic when you see the Connect to iTunes screen, Just have a handy AT&T SIM card and let iTunes activate the iPhone

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    iPod touch Users same method, minus the SIM card

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Enjoy guys!
  2. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Well that's an easy fix.

    Unless they don't have afc2add installed.
  3. xXrkidXx

    xXrkidXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    129
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    I thought of that.. Redsn0w and PwnageTool automatically install it for you. Spirit is the only jailbreak app that doesn't..
  4. 4NewHop3

    4NewHop3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,444
    Likes Received:
    706
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    This seems like a Windows only guide since iFunBox doesn't support Mac OS X.
  5. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Then use a Mac app instead? It's not hard to find one.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I totally forgot they edited it for you by default. I haven't used redsn0w in a while.
  6. xXrkidXx

    xXrkidXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    129
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Well yea, If it were for mac I would say screw it and go for the GM lol But you can use iPhone Browser for OS X to accomplish the same thing.
  7. 4NewHop3

    4NewHop3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,444
    Likes Received:
    706
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    Pretty much true lol.
  8. b-mac 39

    b-mac 39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,809
    Likes Received:
    60
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Since the iDevice goes into recovery when the betas expire, can't you just use blackra1n or irecovery to boot it up, and you have the beta again?
  9. peebrian202869

    peebrian202869 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    This is an easier fix than i thought... i thought someone would make a program for it, but no... good tut =]
  10. Ari.

    Ari. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,347
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    Will you lose all data if you kick out of recovery from expired beta?

Share This Page