3G iPod Touch!!!

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by goundry, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. goundry

    goundry New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Surely it's possible?

    Anyone know of a cable to connect an iTouch to a mobile so that the iTouch can use the mobile's 3G connection?

    Thanks
  2. Blake

    Blake Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,963
    Likes Received:
    63
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    no but i think it would be cool if the iPhone put off a wireless internet signal that only the touch could pick up!
  3. taikmata

    taikmata New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
  4. goundry

    goundry New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    excellent! thanks so much! i didn't expect to find such a cool solution! i'll go play. luckily i have a WM6 PDA so this should work out well

    Cheers

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. goundry

    goundry New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    This all works amazingly!!! I've now got a 3G ipod! Beats GPRS / EDGE any day

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Thanks again
  6. Pitt

    Pitt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone knows if this is possibile with a Symbian OS cellphone?
    I searched everywhere but I found nothing (I do not have a Symbian cellphone, I was about to buy a 'cheap' WiFi one just to use it with the Touch on the go).
    Or anyone knows if this 'WiFi access point cellphone' is something that will be a common feature on futures cellphones?

    I would prefer this solution to a, let's say, 3G iPhone.

    Many thanks.
  7. 1337chaos

    1337chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    wouldnt that only work if you have a plan for the phone though? i doubt cell phone carriers would like you walking around getting free wifi from them
  8. taikmata

    taikmata New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    of course u need a data plan for your phone. if u r buying a pda, dun buy 3g, go for hsdpa 3.6mbps - naturally ur operator needs to support 3.5g.

    trust me, the speed diff between 3g n 3.5g is huge.

    as for the pda, ensure its wm6 or wm5 aku 3 and above.

    as for symbian, no solution yet. was thinking of doing the same thing for my n95 but wifi sharing still not avail. got to wait.
  9. davefrank

    davefrank New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured this out 2 days before anyone posted it online. This device f***in rocks now that I have Internet anywhere my sprint mogul works (which is everywhere). I thought no bluetooth was going to kill tethering, but it occured to me an ad-hoc wifi connection should work with static ips and an internet sharing program. it works way faster than bluetooth.
  10. bangkokzzh

    bangkokzzh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    no meaning , why don't just use WMA6 PDA get online? we love touch ,maybe is the OSX system or the way we use it . little bit different when we use WMA6 PDA, but the result we get same . PDA can open website by mobile IE. so why we have to use two device to get online?

Share This Page